
(Few vague spoilers for JJK)
I’m a really like anime. I’m not claiming to be the biggest anime fan ever, I’m definitely not (I vowed when I was like 12 to never ever watch attack on titan, I fully intend to never ever watch it), but I have seen like the main few shonen (Shonen defined as Anime geared towards younger male audiences, usually some kind of action or adventure anime) Animes and if not I plan on watching them. Am I the most versed? No. Yeah, that’s it. I’m not the most well versed.
BUT, in the shows I have seen, I find it weirdly hard to find a favorite character. Not that you HAVE to have one, not at all. I actually prefer not having one sometimes, or having multiple. This weirds some people out, especially when I say something like “Oh, I really like Mahito from JJK.” And they look at me like I’m going to burn their house down. Which, I get it. Don’t get me wrong. I DO hate Mahito and he got what was coming. He was also one my favorite characters. I liked his character, not ANY of his actions, nor did I root for the bad guys (Kenjaku, Geto is a different story). Do I instantly assume people who say Mahito is their favorite are actually insane and should be put on an island away from everyone else? Yes. JJK fans are crazy. I don’t trust them.
Anyways, I do find it particularly difficult to have a favorite character, especially in shows like Jujitsu Kaisen, because I love most if not all of the characters on screen. Something something good writing and fleshed out characters. Then I feel WORSE because I can tell that the characters are well written and well loves, and I STILL cant pick a favorite.
When it comes to JJK, I have a handful of characters that I may call my favorite on any given day. Previously, those characters included Mahito and Junpei… which feels really contradictory in retrospect. Super ironic. Still devastated. Still cry periodically… I digress. Now, if I were to be asked, my favorite character is in order (as of 2:48pm) Geto, Itadori, Fushiguro, Inumaki, Yuuta, and then like jogo or something. Do you know who these people are if you haven’t seen the show? No. You will have no clue. But lily will, and that’s all that matters a little bit.
I like each of them for different reasons, Geto as an all-rounder, I love EVERY aspect of his character, but Yuuji trumps him in the sense that I like Itadori’s characterization with compassion more. Fushiguro is an amazing representation of depression. Inumaki has the coolest technique ever.
That’s it. I’m running out of time, lol, so that’s my blog. I don’t know who my favorite character is.
I really want to watch JJK at some point. So sad that I got out of anime because it made me so happy when I way younger bro!! What you said about liking a character but not their actions, I completely agree. I can see where some people are coming from when they’re weirded out by someone liking a villain or a bad character, but GEEZ! Open a book people!! I think it’s great that you like JJK enough to have multiple favorites in the cast, that really speaks for the writing to me.