Poseidon…. That freaky water dude

poseidon sculpture | Aongking Sculpture Poseidon sculptureSo. Like, basically. Yeah, we’re jumping straight in btw. So, basically, it is very VERY important to understand the history of not only your religion but also other religions. You should actually know the history of anything you’re interested in. I’m not saying like exact dates, time stamps, comprehensive notes, ect. I’m talking being able to verbally give out a basic history of whatever it is you like as background, and to better understand it yourself. Please, never talk about something if you have no clue what you’re talking about. Thank you. 

In relation to this, Poseidon. The water guy. The whole, like, king of the ocean and father of like cyclopses and stuff like that. He’s done a couple things. Had a very brief cameo in Epic: The Musical (if anyone mentions Epic in the comments i will actually throw chairs i do NOT wanna hear about epic the musical). Most people do, however, know Poseidon through the medusa myth. I genuinely think i’ve explained that myth at least three times already on blogs and how its wrong btw, so im not gonna expand on it. 

What i’m getting at is, when people think Poseidon they thing A) That water dude, B) Percy Jackson’s dad, or C) Epic: The Musical (as of late). Poseidon is actually a LOT more than that, in a modern Lense and in a ancient one, too. This would come from understanding his history and roots, so we’re going to do that today!

Poseidon, whos name oddly (as far as we know) means actually nothing relating to the Sea, which he is the god of. His name most nearly, in current theories, can mean “husband,” “Earth Husband”, or “Earth Shaker” and any varieties of the name. This could come from his Mycenean roots, which that’s basically the guys right before the greek dark ages when everything changed, in which our dearly beloved Poseidon was actually the KING of the gods, rather than the throw-away brother who often had non-consensual encounters with women and was like kinda in the ocean or sum. It is believed that, somehow someway during those dark ages, Poseidon and Zeus did a whole personality swap.. which may be the reason that some greek heroes have very unclear family lines, because are they zeus’ or poseidon’s? like whats going on? 

Basically, Poseidon used to be, like…. that guy. He was the king of the gods, and not only that, but he was the king of the skies, seas, and underworld as well! This leaves entities like Hades and Zeus, one of which ive talked about before, without the whole things they’re known for (Which, if i knew anything about that, i would definitely make blogs on them). It’s actually pretty hard to research them, since the greeks were only really writing stuff down AFTER the dark ages anyways… but whatever. Poseidon used to be the king of the gods, still mostly relating to the sea, earth quakes, and… horses? Whats a guy like him, like the sea, doing being the god of horses????

He had a baby with his sister and it was a horse.

That’s it, That’s the myth. He had a baby with demeter and it was a horse. The fastest horse ever, or something, and it ate gold and other precious metals. Technically, the horse has a twin sister, who is NOT a horse. Sister of Persephone. Oh, persephone’s brother is also a horse. btw. yeah. Arion. His name is Arion. Kind of how Loki turned into a horse and got pregnant by a horse and had a horse². Actually, the myth is pretty similar.

While demeter was looking for her daughter, Persephone, after Hades had abducted her, she managed to travel great distances looking for her. She went to helios, some random son of zeus (so… technically Persephone’s half-brother/cousin) whom she fell in love with, a few places regarding giants and titans and whatever… along the way, Poseidon had begun persuing her. To evade his advances, he changed into a horse…. then he changed into a horse. This was okay to her, but not normal Poseidon, and, well.. when a mommy horse and a daddy horse love each other very much, they end up popping out two other horses- nope. One human girl and a horse. That horse, Arion, is the fastest horse to ever horse. and also, like, sometimes can walk on wind (not in a pegasus way) and may or may not be the father of all horses. 

Yeah. That is, as far as I know, the ONLY reason Poseidon is considered the god of horses, aside from the fact he also like… invented horses. It’s kind of confusing and useless, if you consider ancient greece instead of mycenean greece, where horses and water were like the best thing before sliced bread. Still, that aspect of him carried over yearrrsssss and some of his most prominent children in myth, demigods by all means, just…. happen to really like horses. I think that was the founder of thebes’ whole thing. Just a demigod of poseidon’s who liked horses but also did like every cool thing ever. Hate that guy, by the way, and WAY too many people like him recently for him to have been, like….. one of the earliest myths and arguably most boring. But, i digress. 

As for him being the earthshaker, aside from it being what his name (probably) means… he has, like, four kids with earth-related dieties. One of them being with GAIA herself. like. dude. weirdo. Other than that, they just geld the general belief that he was so powerful (or something) that he could shake the very earth. It’s fun, he’s fun, and i love him. 

 

(Someone… someone give me gods to talk about next week. I like doing this. I’ll do (Almost) anyone.)

(Ancient Greek) men suck. Here’s who doesn’t!

I don’t know if you guys know this about me but. I like Greek mythology. Surprise!! Shocking, right? No one knew this! Anyways, this is another Greek Mythology blog except it’s just going to be me bashing the same two guys over and over because they’re everyones favorites and then I’m going to tell you the ONLY correct answer for who your favorite (male) Greek god should be, out of the main 7~ ish.

Most of the time, when people hear “evil death guy, god of the underworld” they get scared. And, don’t let me lie to you, my dude Hades gets a bad name most of the time. He is actually NOT death, that is a separate entity known as Thanatos. Hades isn’t even the god of the dead. He’s the god of the underworld. Not just the bad parts but the ENTIRE underworld, including the Greek equivalent of heaven, Elysium. This makes Hades the god of not only the scary fire torture place, but the place where they feast and party and have fun for the rest of forever and literally everything good ever happens. He, in his roman form of Pluto, actually receives a lot more credit regarding this aspect of him because of how militarized the romans were. They didn’t want to fear death, not how the greeks did, so he morphed into a GOOD guy who… kinda also was super duper death or whatever. And also riches. Shouts out to Pluto, by far my favorite Roman God (somewhere near hygiea)

On the flip side of the same coin, hehe get it because riches, Hades is absolutely NOT a “good” guy by moral standards. It’s impossible to hold a god, if you believe they are real, or metaphorical beings, if you don’t, to OUR mortal standards. However, people do. People LOVE to bash on deities like Poseidon and Zeus for their actions, and then don’t extend the same ideas over to HADES. Who’s most known myth is HADES and PERSEPHONE. Like. THE myth Greek mythology was so popularized by.

(Hades, Persephone, and little tiny cerberus)

Y’know, the general myth in which Hades sees the beautiful Persephone in demeter’s garden, decides he wants her for a wife and opens up the ground to catch her, brings her down to the underworld refuses to let her leave. She gets super hungry, goes out and finds a pomegranate and eats like six seeds, leads to us and the changing of our seasons because something something deal with Zeus. Kind of the blueprint for most “Dark” (read: kidnapping) romance these days. Bad boy who really wants you but you cant have him because of some external force (usually the law).

Yeah, shut up. Hades Kidnapped and, LITERALLY, assaulted Persephone. In ALL tellings of the myth. He literally snatches my girl out of her garden. The OG myth was actually more focused on Demeter, and her journey in finding her daughter and how different seasons were divided into where, blah  blah. But, no. It’s all about hades and Persephone. People like to call them some big metaphor for devotion and unconditional love, rebelling for what you want, but no one has been able to explain to me how they are a metaphor for that.  Because they aren’t. Most tellings of the myth have Hades putting the pomegranate tree out there to entice Persephone because she was refusing to eat for him, because he was trying to trap her down there, and some have him plain deceiving her because she’s, get this, young and doesn’t know. People tend to villainize every other male deiety for the exact same thing, but somehow hades gets a pass?? Somehow?? Also somehow theres a telling of the myth ive heard in which he was DEVASTATED that Persephone ate the seeds and was now forced to be with him, as he wanted her to “choose” him. That telling was GREATLY popularized my Dark Romance today. That literally would not ever happen ever. Where are you guys getting your information.

I’m sick of the hades glazing. Theres a few other bad things here and there, though most of those were “but zeus told me to!!” and not of his own free will, so whatever. A god that is NOT bound by anothers free will but is still so deeply loved and adored by all is APOLLO.

(Apollo and Daphne)

Apollo is a JERK. He’s an INCEL. He’s TERRIBLE (not really ily apollo). Most of his myths, if not pertaining to prophecy in some way, is him screwing up so bad with the ladies (and men, on occasion) that they beg to be turned into trees, throw themselves off cliffs, turn themselves into plants (happens like 3 times) and genuinely so much more. The amount of minor myths that are just “apollo wants girl. Girl says no. Apollo then chases girl. Girl then finds some new insane way to die just to get away from him.” I actually cant believe I just called a god an incel im giggling. Apollo in most media is perceived as this “great happy sunny poetry and music” guy. He was initially the god of PLAGE. And DEATH. And TERROR. The music and poetry and all that other good stuff, like medicine, came WAY after his origins.

You know who you SHOULD like though? Who your favorite male god SHOULD be, if you want to hold ANY of them to mortal standards? Not Hades. Not apollo. Not Poseidon, or Hermes. DEFINITELY not zeus.

(My goat Ares bowing to his girlfriend Aphrodite)

Ares. ARES is one of the only gods who, as far as im aware, has NOT greatly wronged a woman. Googled it just now. He’s like an angel. Also, he is younger than Athena and not a technical biological child of Zeus (or something, probably a Romanized myth). Which makes sense, weirdly. Anyways. Just a few points on why Ares should be your favorite.

  • Is the father of the first amazonian queen and patron god of the amazon warriors
  • Had it out for Heracles for years after he killed said amazonian queen, and when a later amazonian queen died in battle (some time during the iliad im pretty sure) he came down and actually just. Killed an entire army. Love you Ares.
  • One of his daughters, alcippe, was bathing by a river when a son of Poseidon came and tried to assault her. Literally took that guy out on sight. No hesitation.
  • He, as far as im aware, has a VERY clean record of ONLY consensual relationships with EVERYONE.
  • In reference to the last point, Aphrodite is his most known lover, and in almost all tellings of it he is referred to as “Aphrodite’s Lover”, instead of the other way around, which absolutely flips Greek gender and intimacy roles.
  • The entire cult of Ares Gynaecothoenas
  • Actually never read this one, one of his daugthers died during childbirth and he saved her baby by allowing him to breastfeed from her, uh, body, which is kinda gross and dark but he didn’t want his daughter to die AND for it to be in vain
  • Yeah no EVERY relationship he’s had is consensual. Shouts out ares for the bare minimum among modern men, above and beyond for Greek men.

This is really long.. I’ve been cutting it up for like 10 minutes.. guys… I love ares… he isn’t even my favorite god… the god of medicine is. Oh, that guys really cool too. Sigh. Someone buy me a “I ❤️ Ares” t-shirt for my birthday. July 19th. I want it in the style of those “I ❤️ my girlfriend” t-shirts. Ares is my girlfriend.